mommasnell

Can Jesus live in my heart?

Posted on: March 25, 2012

A few days ago Kayleigh and I were enjoying a yogurt together as her little brother took his nap. We were sitting at her princess table, and talking about Jesus. I explained to her that one day, she could ask Jesus to live in her heart – just as He lives in mine. She was very interested in this idea. After a few minutes of silence (she was really pondering this idea) she asked me, “Mommy, can Jesus live in my heart, too?” Of course, I told her yes, but she had to ask him. She then immediately asked if we could pray. She prayed (something very close to this…), “Dear Jesus, come live in my heart every day. Jesus died on the cross for the sin, but you didn’t die all the time, just one time. And thank you for brother, and daddy, and yogurt, and my princess table. Amen.” Oh, melt my heart! Do I think she “gets it”? No, not yet. I do think she’s getting closer though. She can tell me what sin is, “the bad stuff we do, when we disobey God”. And she can tell me  how we’re saved, “Jesus died on the cross.”

I’m so thankful for the love that Jesus has for us, for the mercy and grace he extends to us, and for the free gift of eternal life that He has offered to us. It is my deepest desire that my children fall head over heels in love with Jesus, I can’t imagine it any other way. 

And in case you’ve stumbled upon this blog by accident, this is my little sweetheart who just prayed that sweet prayer. She’s my “monster-girl” who I love so very much!
Image 

Leave a comment

My love.

Past Blogs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other subscribers