mommasnell

24 Hours of Gentleness

Posted on: June 15, 2012

I have a dear friend who posted a challenge. She’s challenged herself to 24 hours of gentleness in her home, and I can’t tell you how badly our home needs a challenge like this! 

I just went head to head with my 3 year old. Gentleness was not the theme of that battle. The outcome could have  been different if it had been.  This simply goes to show, our home needs more gentleness. 

Ya know, God has a funny way of always making the pieces fit together. I just recently started a Bible study on James. And the scripture to inspire our 24 hours of gentleness? Yep, right out of James. “My dearly loved brothers, understand this: Everyone must be quick to hear, slow to speak, and slow to anger, for man’s anger does not accomplish God’s righteousness.” James 1:19-20

In order to establish 24 hours of gentleness, we’re going to need some rules. I’m simply brainstorming now, and suggestions are more than welcome.

1. Listen when someone is talking. No interrupting.
2. Say how you feel, “I’m angry.” Instead of throwing a tantrum.
3. Keep your hands to yourself. 
4. Speak kindly, use your words to build up – not tear down.
5. No yelling (this one may apply to me more than I’d like to admit.)

With our oldest being only 3, I’m wanting to keep the rules simple. Although I’m sure I could add a million rules to our 24 hour list (and I probably should for myself!) Do you have any suggestions? Have you ever challenged yourself to 24 hours of gentleness, or something else? 

Wish us luck! Here goes nothing… 

2 Responses to "24 Hours of Gentleness"

I love this! I certainly can apply in my house, even though Eli is only 2. Modeling is the best instruction :) What a great idea for a challenge!

It’s been harder than I would have expected, such a humbling experience to realize that I’m the one with the problem! I have our rules written down on our dry erase board, which stays on our fridge. Needless to say, I’m keeping those rules up! I have several more hours left in my first 24 hours, so we’ll see if I can keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

