mommasnell

A decade ago.

Posted on: May 11, 2012

10 years ago today, my husband made the smartest choice of his life – he took me to prom as his date. That kicked off the start of everything we have become today, it’s been a wild ride this far! 

You ready for this? First date prom picture!
 Image
I was 15 years old! I can’t imagine my daughter meeting her future husband at 15! 

We’ve learned so much along the way. I remember once we were on vacation in Gatlinburg, TN. This was after we were engaged, but before we were married. We got into an argument, and decided to go to the arcade for the evening. It ended up being the best choice ever! How can you continue to argue over something silly while playing whack-a-mole?! It was a great way to break the ice again, and forgive. Speaking of being engaged, here ya go..

 Image
Lesson learned here: Before you propose, don’t buy your dinner! Someone else will offer to pay, and you’ll have to turn ‘em down! We joked that we needed to recreate the scene somewhere else and get free food (we didn’t, but it was tempting!)

I’m blessed to be married to someone who I truly love. Someone who works so hard for us, and who I know loves me more than anything. He’s a very passionate man, and I’m honored to be the woman he made the choice to spend the rest of his life with. I plan on celebrating with a green date tonight, and I’m looking forward to many more years! 

2 Responses to "A decade ago."

How sweet!! My bff and her husband started dating at 16 and 17. They just celebrated 10 years together as well and are pregnant with their second baby! :)

Congrats!! LOVE the prom picture! I find it so fun to look back at those old pictures! We showed our five year old a picture from when my husband and I were first dating. His response? “Mom, you look so YOUNG!” Wow – did I ever feel old! haha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

